I didn’t go through with the tattoo. My heart wasn’t in it. My heart’s not into lasering it either. It’s tough to subject yourself to pain. However, I did come up with a cool idea for it and now I’m back on the fence again about getting it. I think what ever I do, I have to do it alone.

Speaking of alone, Laura and I broke up on Sunday. I won’t go into details other than the fact that it was amicable. I’m not used to break ups that I am not filled with hate after or that some sort of law isn’t involved. She’s the first ex I’ll be friends with in…I think ever. It is sad it took 31 years to finally have a quiet death of a relationship but I’m glad I did. I know what a healthy relationship looks like finally. It was a good five months.

I’m a call center trainer by day and I try not to let what I do bleed into what I create for many reasons (and I’m not into violating HIPAA). However, I am proud of “Pecha Kucha Breakup” because I took something I do as part of my job (storyboarding PowerPoint presentations) and used it as a device to tell a story. I know I could build this deck and do it in front of people and I might do that one day, for fun. Check it out here and then check out the rest of the inaugural issue of Speech Bubble.

HOUSEFIRE is letting me play their reindeer games. This is proof.

Finally, Safety Third, the fine folks who not only put out my flash fiction chap (available here), xTx’s first chapbook and soon, Frank Hinton’s first chapbook (which I read one of the pieces for the audio book), will put out my second fiction chapbook called The Internet Is A Dangerous Place To Live. This one will have some longer stories of it, six never before seen. I’m working on doing some readings in July in the ATL. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a comment

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , ,