It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything. I’ve been busy with my first MFA class, day job work, working on a new project (that I won’t go too much into yet – all will reveal itself soon enough). Here’s what I’ve been up to.

I stumbled onto Father John Misty’s I Love You, Honeybear thanks to NPR and it’s the first album this year that I’ve listened to repeatedly. It’s a beautiful album. It also has some darkness in it, and it’s the delivery system of that darkness makes it even better. Check out the self-titled track below.

Novel wise, I’ve read so far this year:

  • Binary Star by Sarah Gerard – I got through this in a single sitting. It was a fast read. I didn’t care for it. The stream-of-consciousness of it didn’t work for me.
  • Ready Player One by Ernie Cline – This was my book club’s inaugural choice. It’s a light, fun read, and Cline shows off his deep love of 80s pop culture. It lacked Airwolf references though (Ernie’s first spoken word CD is called Ultraman is Airwolf – that man loves Airwolf).
  • Find Me by Laura Van den Berg – I am a huge fan of her short stories and I was excited that she wrote a post apocalypse novel. It was a little too quiet for me, though, and I could tell how it was going to end early on. I wanted more. I was hoping for more.

I’m currently working through Matt Summell’s Making Nice slowly (slowly being the operative word). The great thing about composite novels and short story collections is their ability to pick them up and put them down as needed.

***

My poetry collection, Other Voices, was named a finalist for the Electric Book Prize. It didn’t win, but it was cool to be a finalist.

Racing Form Press does this really cool thing where they post poems from manuscripts that they like and are seriously considering. They did that with my Yelp review collection Pick How You Can Revise A Memory, which you can check out here.

I have a poem in the 30th anniversary issue of Oxford Magazine, which you can check out the issue here.

I have a new piece of flash fiction over in the latest issue of Maudlin House, which you can read over here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

book review, books, flash fiction, music, poetry, reading list

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,