2014 has been quite a year. On a high level:

  • The Bones of Us came out and I toured to support it on the West Coast (and finally met Adam Scott Mazer in New York).
  • One of my Yelp review prose poems was nominated for a Pushcart Prize, another for Best of the Net.
  • I got married and traveled out of the country for the first time.
  • I got accepted into a MFA program that (hopefully) will challenge me in ways I need to grow as a writer.
  • I started running a poetry slam again in a way that I’ve enjoyed myself doing it more than I did when running a slam with the intent to send individuals and groups to national competitions.
  • I’m a semi-finalist for the 2015 Luminaire Award for Best Poetry.
  • I did a really cool collaborative reading with Terry Ann Thaxton called The Bones of The Terrible Wife.

Overall, this has been a really good year.

***

Next week, I return to Atlanta for one night only at the event below. If you are in the area, come check it out.

10420158_408164202666025_1849770450613377814_n

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

Best of the Net, Pushcart Prize nomination, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,