December 9, 2014

Best of List

It’s that time of year where everyone reflects on what music, movies, books, etc were the best of 2014. I’m just going to throw up a list of the books and music that I really enjoyed this year (in no particular order).

Books

Music

  • Run the Jewels 2 – Run the Jewels
  • They Want My Soul – Spoon
  • Are We There – Sharon Van Etten

Closer to the end of the year, I’ll do a personal best-of list, highlighting the best experiences I’ve had for 2014.

***

There was this awful fucking poem that came out right after the (lack) of indictment from the grand jury that one of my online friends (writer Shannon Barber) responded to it with this excellent open letter (so excellent, it was cited in this Huffington Post article).

This article that talks about how slam poetry is not a genre makes a lot of good points. I agree overall perception of what makes a slam poem has influenced (negatively) the look and sound of a slam poem. I think it’s the slammaster’s job (and the poets who participate) to push the content of a poetry slam in new directions. In my days in poetry slam, I also made the mistake of writing what could win instead of concentrating on being better as a writer. I’m more interested in working on projects that interest me. I also occasionally slam with the material. Sometimes, I do ok. Sometimes, I don’t.

***

I will be part of the 2015 UCF Book Festival. More details to come, but you can check out my official author profile here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

best of 2014, books, music, performance calendar, poetry slam organizing tips

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,