November 2, 2014

The Return

I got married and I was on my honeymoon in France (Paris, Annecy, Dijon, Reims) and London for the last two weeks. I saw a lot, ate a lot, and overall it was a really good experience. It was my first trip outside of the United States and I want to check out more of Europe in the future. If I had planned it better, I could have gotten in a reading or two while I was in Paris. I know better next time.

While I was on my honeymoon, I got some unexpected bad news about a manuscript that I’ve been shopping around, along with a rejection regarding a travel grant. The former felt like a gut punch because I thought it was going to work with that particular press and was disheartened they passed on it. I’ve been through this roller coaster ride before with The Bones of Us, which took a while before it found a home. I just have to wipe the blood from my mouth and keep plugging away.

***

I have one more reading in Orlando for 2014. This is probably going to be the last one I do this year (though I’ve said that before).

10537926_10202889148965558_4408801557622499683_o

Bookmark It is the best independent bookstore in Orlando, in one of the best places to eat and hang out in Orlando. This is such a cool thing they are doing and I encourage anyone in Orlando to come and check out all the programming.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances

Tags

, , , ,