After going back and forth for the last couple of years about getting an MFA, I applied for a program. The application guidelines were simple: 7-10 pages of poems and a statement of intent sent via email. No application fee. No recommendation letters required. The program takes about a week to respond; I got accepted into the program (details about it are here).

The program has a no-residency option (all online), which would allow me to keep my day job and not take any time off from work. The downside though is that funding isn’t there at all (I’ve heard from writers that you shouldn’t pay for your MFA. However, taking a substantial pay cut to do twice the work [teaching and homework] isn’t that appealing to me). My company can help with tuition reimbursement (to a point). There are scholarships out there. Worse comes to worse, I can take loans if the program compels me to become fully vested. There are a couple of other programs I will apply to but this makes me happy that my weird shit can get me into a program.

I need some fresh perspective to push my work in a different direction. This might be how I get there.

***

The next project that will come out after The Bones of Us will be the prequel I wrote to Bodies Made of SmokeIt’s titled It’s A Wild Swing Of A Knife and should be out in April 2015 through Choose the Sword Press. This is actually a long prose poem in chapbook form. I am really excited about this coming out and can’t wait for y’all to see it.

I received my second Best of the Net nomination this year by Mojave River Review for my poem “No More Poems About Unrequited Love

I have four new Yelp reviews over in Maudlin House, which you can check out here.

Leave a comment

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

Best of the Net, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , ,