The book release at The Geek Easy for The Bones of Us was a blast. The readers were fantastic and the audience was pretty receptive to the “upbeat” set list I put together. The highlight of my evening was bantering with my mom during my reading, which turned out to be way more fun than I thought would ever be possible. I read the next night in Maitland in a festival setting and about halfway through, I got the crowd to settle down and listen.

The Bones of Us is a super serious collection. When I’m not doing the slideshow performance of the collection, I have to add banter to balance the tone of the evening. I don’t want to drive people to crawl up in a fetal position somewhere dark, turn up The Cure to 12, and cry, or drink, or both. It’s important to get a feel for your audience at any reading and choose work that will best work in the room.

***

My next show is on May 17 at the Orlando Fringe Festival. I’ll read with Erica Dawson. This will be a slideshow reading (it will make sense when you see it).

functionallyliterateposter

 

I also have a poem in this year’s issue of The Thing Itself. You can check out the poem from the issue below.

apoemasdirectedbydavidlynch

 

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , ,