There is a special hell when you are trying to figure out what direction to go in next as a writer once something that has been part of your life for years is out in the world for consumption. I’ve been dealing with this on and off post tour and I’ve had some start and stop on projects. When the velocity isn’t there, it isn’t there; I know this about myself. I also know that too much doubt is a killer of creative energy. I’m working through this in order to evolve as a writer.

In six days, I turn 35. When I look back at what I accomplished over the last ten years, I feel like I’ve done a lot and not enough. I ran a poetry slam for ten years (no other poetry slam in Orlando has made the ten year mark). There Will Be Words turns three in May. I have two poetry collections, a novella, and a plethora of chapbooks. Then I see my work not on top-10, these poems can change your life, viral posts type lists and I go “what more do I need to do”. Any writer who says it’s not important to see your work listed in a positive fashion is full of bullshit. At the same time, that lack of recognition is a driver to be better (for me at least).

***

  • I managed to carve out the excerpt of my last reading at the Downtown Orlando Public Library. I read three poems from The Bones of Us and a poem I wrote about my fiance. You can check that out below.
  • Darby Laine wrote this really thoughtful review of The Bones of Us for Ampersand Review. You can check that out here
  • One of my Yelp prose poems is in the debut issue of Control Literary Magazine. Check out the issue here.
  • I have two poems over in Across the Margin. You can check that out here.
  • Here are my upcoming readings next week
    • Thursday, May 8 – 7:00 pm at The Geek Easy – The Bones of Us release party. More details on the Facebook invite here.
    • Friday, May 9 – 7:00 pm at the Maitland Art Center – Literature Out Loud reading series. I will be reading from The Bones of Us. $5 gets you in the door and a beer or wine ticket. More details about the series here.
Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news, self assessment, videos

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,