Not much happening on the personal front. Wedding planning has been painless. The last of the There Will Be Words chapbooks are coming along. I read Gary Jackson’s Missing You, Metropolis (which I will have to read again – there’s a lot of goodness and sets the gold standard for superhero persona poems). And my amazing fiance gave me this for Easter to challenge my disdain for this and all other artificial holidays.

adulteasterbasket

Before I go into my upcoming reading dates in full, Black Heart Magazine reviewed The Bones of Us. Here’s a taste of the review:

“From the first page, it’s pretty clear that you’re reading something unusual. Bradley’s sharp, laconic verse is perfectly matched with Mazer’s heavy-handed but haunting drawing style–each brings something to the table here, so that the words and the art complement and feed off of each other. The art builds on the rich imagery in the poems, going much farther rather than just stopping there. Thus, the experience of reading is more sensory than you might expect, the layers of images in your head combining with the images on the page to form a multi-layered landscape.”

Read the rest here. Also, if you have a copy of The Bones of Us, give it a review over on Goodreads here.

***

  • Thursday, May 8 – 7:00 pm at The Geek Easy – The Bones of Us release party. More details on the Facebook invite here.
  • Friday, May 9 – 7:00 pm at the Maitland Art Center – Literature Out Loud reading series. I will be reading from The Bones of Us. $5 gets you in the door and a beer or wine ticket. More details about the series here.
  • Saturday, May 17 – 7:00 pm at the Orlando Fringe Festival Outdoor Stage. I’ll be reading with Erica Dawson at Functionally Literate, one of my favorite local reading series. More details about the show are here.
  • Thursday, May 27 – 9:00 pm ET – I am doing a virtual reading of The Bones of Us over on LitDemon. This will be a text and image show (which means you’ll get to hear me read and look at excerpts of the book during the reading). I’ll read for 25 minutes and then do a Q&A. Watch this space here for more details.
  • Wednesday, June 4 – 8:30 pm at Wednesday Open Words (Austin’s Coffee and Film) – I will feature at one of the longest running open mics in Orlando. Also, this will be the first time I’ve read at Austin’s since I read my epic poem How Esmeralda Estrus Got Her Revenge as a feature. Click here for more details about the venue.
  • Monday, June 9 – 7:00 pm – Orlando Public Library, Herndon Branch – I am doing a Q&A on getting poetry published. I am not a big fan of lecturing or talking at people. I don’t do it in my day job when I teach. Bring your challenges, your fears, your concerns. We’ll work through them. Sign up for the Q&A here (it’s free)
Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances, poetry

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,