I read in Melbourne, FL last Tuesday at a show put together by JTDSnyder and it was a good mix of music and poetry (and the sound at the venue was excellent). I read mostly from the second half of The Bones of Us (with banter since I wasn’t doing the slideshow feature that I’ve done previously) and it felt good to perform in Florida again with such a great audience. I’ll be featuring in July at Black on Black Rhyme in Palm Bay because of that show. I was glad to do it and can’t wait to go back in July.

I have a show this Saturday at the Orlando Public Library from 2:00 pm-4:00 pm. I have to be a bit PG due to the venue and the time of day (which I don’t mind). This will be the first time I read poetry in Orlando in almost a year (maybe). Click here to check out details of the show and the other readers.

My release party is set for May 1 at The Geek Easy (which is within A Comic Shop) from 7:00 pm-10:00 pm. I’ve asked some folks to read with me and there will be door prizes. The Facebook invite with the details is here.

***

I devoured Roxane Gay‘s An Untamed State over two days last week and it is unlike anything I’ve read. I don’t want to say anything about it because even spoiling a tiny bit would be wrong. Just go get it and read it. It will be one of the better things you’ll do for your life.

I’m also halfway through Bob Schofield’s The Inevitable June, which has been delightful. It’s unfair that on top of being an amazing artist, he’s an amazing writer. Go get that one, too.

Also, “Genres of Grief” by Scherezade Siobhan is one of the most singular beautiful things I’ve read lately. Check that out here.

Music, on the other hand, has been really disappointing. Unlike last year where there was a lot of music that resonated, I’m not getting that this year. The new Beck album is full of meh. The new Afghan Whigs album tarnishes their legacy. I hear a second Run the Jewels album is coming, so I have that to look forward to. The fact so much good lit is out right now counterbalances the lack of good music.

***

Luna Luna Magazine is starting to feature poets on a weekly basis and I am their first one. I have three poems you can check out here (two of which I wrote while on tour on the West Coast).

I was interviewed about The Bones of Us for Sundress Publications, which you can read here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,