February 9, 2014

The Final Countdown

In a little over two weeks, I’ll be in Seattle at AWP with a great deal of the literary population in the United States. I’ll be kicking off The Bones of Us and doing a small book tour to support it. Before this happens, I have to get through some major work projects and go to a wedding. On Valentine’s Day.

I don’t mind going to weddings. At last count, I think I’ve been to about 10-12 at this point. It’s interesting to see the outcome of months (and years even) of planning, the first song choices, the catering, etc etc. At one wedding I went to, the first song the freshly married couple danced to was the Sixpence None The Richer cover of The La’s “There She Goes”, which I’m pretty sure is an ode to shooting heroin (or your standard obsession = love type love songs because obsession is totally love, right?). There were about four or five that picked “At Last”. Yes, it’s a fitting song, but couldn’t have those couples picked something a little more meaningful. Maybe your first kiss was to “November Rain” and yes, it would be an incredibly inappropriate first dance song but it would have been a little more original. (I have thought of inappropriate first dance wedding songs many times, and I know better than trying to talk my fiancee into them).

But to schedule a wedding on Valentine’s Day – that’s a smidge bridezillaesque. I get that your day is important but there are others who also place emotional value on Valentine’s Day. (My personal Valentine’s Day isn’t actually Valentine’s Day, it’s the anniversaries and moments I have with my fiancee).

Rest assured, I will dress up and behave. I will have a good time. We’ll have to have a make up date night because of the occasion.

***

Tour dates regarding The Bones of Us will be announced soon. I plan on blogging about it here. If you are a Tumblr user, follow it. There’s going to be a lot of firsts for me on this tour and I’m excited to share them with y’all.

I have three poems in the debut issue of Mojave River Review, which you can check those poems out and other work in the issue here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , ,