I am going to see I, Frankenstein tonight. I’m not ashamed to admit this.

There is always a need to see a film just for the entertainment value of it, regardless of the quality of said film or lack thereof (the Nicholas Cage rendition of The Wicker Man is a masterpiece of awfulness – it’s even funnier when someone recut the trailer as a comedy). My favorite past time is putting on a really terrible movie and drink while watching it. I’ve done it sometimes with Laura but mostly, I do it by myself.

I don’t know understand the stigma behind drinking alone. It’s actually the safest thing you can do as long as your mindset is right. Why get drunk in a crowd and end up doing something really stupid (which I have done on numerous occasions – a friend’s Halloween party in 2004 is probably where I was at my worst and my recollection of what I did is based on numerous eyewitness accounts of what I did).

I’m seeing I, Frankenstein to blow off steam (not drink while watching it though – movie theater cocktails are expensive and weak). Sometimes, you need to do that, however and whenever possible.

***

The best things you can do are the ones that scare you or make you doubt that what you are doing is the right thing. I felt like that when I was answering the interview questions Simon Jacobs over at [PANK] threw at me. I needed to be open and honest about my experiences and I think the interview turned out really well. There are also two new excerpts of The Bones of Us that you can check out here.

I have a poem in the latest issue of Electric Windmill, which you can read here.

I have three poems over in the latest issue of The Subterrnenan Quarterly, which you can check out here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,