I’m starting to take a step back and examine my own work and also other writing. I’m always working on trying to do new and interesting things, become better in craft. In a ways, I feel like I’m shadowboxing some times as I’m not a big participant in writers groups or other clique like things writers do (though I run a reading series/chapbook publisher but the mission of that is to only be held to good writing and nothing else). In 2015, I’m considering the plunge into a nearby local (low residency) MFA program. I want to do it starting January but with the wedding coming up, I might be pushing myself to do too much in so little time and that’s something I have to be better about.

I’m struggling right now trying to come up with a good arc (or multiple arcs) for the live readings of The Bones of Us. What I keep having mapped out is about 80-90% sad bastard, 10% funny, happy. I know that’s a bit of an imbalance. I also know I don’t want to bombard people with poems in the features (and depending on my audience, I’ll balance out doing memorized work and readings from the book). It’s a challenge when you are creating a live experience for any reading feature, regardless of form. With poems, you have more room to banter, more time to rehearse (shorter poems are easy for me to memorize at this point). It’s something I’ll be agonizing over the next six weeks before the West Coast tour begins.

Meanwhile, back at home There Will Be Words has been named a Selection of the Week by the Orlando Weekly. They said some very nice things about it, which you can check out here.

I have a new poem over at This Zine Will Change Your Life. It’s one of those poems I was scared to write but needed to.

Also, the latest installment of I Am Trying To Break Your Sex Laws is up and you can check that out here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , ,