December 5, 2013

Kill Your Turkey

Editor’s note: Before I get started, I’m ok. I don’t think my rib is actually fractured. Mind you I’m not doing anything stupid, like weight lifting or bear fighting, but I think I’m pretty much out of the woods. Not bad for someone who was hit by a car a few weeks ago.

***

I generally hate Christmas. I hate the loud, gaudy colors, the music (oh god, the music). I hate the way it twists people. Last year was the best Christmas I ever had (I got an offer letter for a new position on Christmas ever). This year, I’m dating someone who is really into Christmas. For the first time since I lived at home, I’m making myself become invested in the aesthetics, like choosing decorations for a Christmas tree and then decorating said tree. When we tried this past Sunday to do that, I had an anxiety attack in the store because I hated everything I saw. We tried again last night, after having a full meal and some wine. The experience was a lot better this time, so much so I did this.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be enthusiastic about Christmas. The holiday doesn’t have meaning to me like someone’s birthday or an anniversary. I know I can be less hateful towards the holiday, and I am this year not hating the holiday. I want this trend to continue.

***

Orlando has another press in town technically: There Will Be Words. I like that we offer limited edition chapbooks of the shows, whereas Burrow Press and Beating Windward fall into the traditional publishing model. For the Best of show, we’re going to publish a limited edition chapbook of the top votegetter’s stories, along with a separate chapbook with the other three runner ups (I’m working out the voting as the online voting gets spammed every year where the top vote getter gets an obscene amount of votes since the stakes are much higher). Laura was able to get Lure Design to design and screen print covers for the December show. Lure is the best design company in Central Florida. They look so good.

Image

If you are in Orlando and are able to make the show Tuesday, December 10, we’re allowing folks to pre-order chapbooks from our online store and pick them up when they come to the show. 

***

I have a new poem over in Lunch Ticket, which you can check out here.

I contributed a poem to the Transit Interpretation Project (TRiP), which you can check out here.

And the inspiration for the title of this entry comes from this.

 

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,