November 23, 2013

And All You Have Is Kisses

The urgent care center I got checked out at after last week’s collision called me this morning to inform me my fourth rib had a “possible” hairline fracture (which in medical terms means actual). Hairline fractures go away on their own, but I’ll be fairly uncomfortable for a month or two as a result.

I was healing fine up until this news. My right bicep’s internal bruising was gone. My right ring finger is almost recovered. There’s a nagging bruise on my left inner thigh that is changing color and hurting more than I thought. I’m still very lucky this is all that I’ve had to endure as a result of being hit by a car.

To decrease the chances of being hit by car, I’ve:

  • Installed a bell – this is helpful as you cross the street to make cars aware of your presence. It’s also helpful when you need to warn pedestrians you are coming up from behind so they can move.
  • Bought a safety vest – I’ve been working long hours and by the time I leave, it’s dark. I have front and rear lights but the first three miles of my commute home have little to no street lights. Even while sticking to the sidewalks, this is incredibly dangerous. I prefer to be a fashion victim than an actual victim any day.
  • Give drives the death stare when they think of cutting me off as I cross a crosswalk – you can wait thirty seconds while I cross the street legally. I don’t give a fuck that you are in a hurry.
  • Stick to the sidewalk when it is dark – Seminole County is not bike friendly. There are trails, but they are the exception. I have no problem slowly making my way home.

***

I have a new poem over in Keyhole Magazine, which you can check out here.

I also have a poem over at Uut Poetry, which you can check out here.

And you still have a chance to buy a copy of last month’s chapbook from There Will Be Words #24 here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , , ,