November 14, 2013

There’s Been An Accident

I was hit by a car today while crossing the street on my bicycle. The driver forgot to look left while at a full stop at a Stop sign before realizing that I was in the middle of the crosswalk. Police were called. The witness saw it all and identified he was at fault. The EMT looked my finger (and at my bike) and didn’t see either was broken. The police provided me his insurance information and he was ticketed. I went to work then went to an urgent care facility and they found nothing was broken.

I won’t drive. I used to say don’t but really it’s won’t. Driving terrifies me. My normal arguments for not driving is the cost of a car (about $3,000 – $5,000 a year, more depending on the situation). Cars are two-ton bullets. Used incorrectly and you do a lot of damage to yourself and others. The misuse of a car can ruin a life or lives; the most I could kill on my bicycle is a squirrel that doesn’t know any better.

As I reported that I was hit by a car, a couple of people have told me that I need to learn to drive (a car will better protect me, I know people who were hit because they weren’t driving). What I need people to do is pay attention to the road. Put your cellphone away. Turn down the radio. Look both ways before making a turn. Sober up before getting behind the wheel (or call a cab if you know you can’t drive home). My learning to drive isn’t going to make Central Florida less deadly to pedestrians. You actually being a good driver will.

I was lucky today. Very lucky. All things considered, coming away with a bent bottle cage, a bump here, a bruise there was far better than I expected.

***

We have launched a store of the limited edition chapbooks for There Will Be Words. We have 43 copies left as of now and part of the proceeds go towards paying our writers for their work and their time. Get yourself a copy here.

Citizen Brooklyn hit me up for some poems and this is the one they chose. Thanks guys.

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. […] urgent care center I got checked out at after last week’s collision called me this morning to inform me my fourth rib had a “possible” hairline fracture […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , ,