I have a habit in a new city getting myself lost and figuring my way out of it. Morgantown was no exception.

This past Saturday, I took the very long way to downtown Morgantown, walking past the morning tailgaters and into the very quiet downtown. I was rewarded with a cup of coffee from Blue Moose Cafe.

1383380_10153338472320151_1150147724_nI finally found my people here and the coffee was fantastic. I’m going back this Saturday to have more and to take some home.

I’m pretty sure I walked about six to eight miles to make it into downtown. Though I had coffee and something to eat, I was still hungry. This past Friday, I ate at Black Bear Burritos and was promptly defeated by The Nacho Man. I also ate in the downtown location that Saturday.

1234067_10153336173560151_1576903820_n

The Nacho Man before the fight.

Eventually, I made my way back to my hotel and stayed there because I was so exhausted from my journey.

I’m in my new hotel now and it’s a lot better than the horror show. My experience has been better in Morgantown but it still is a city that is challenging to move around in. The rapid transit system used is good if you are a college student at University of West Virginia since it gets you from one side of the campus to the other (and it was a help in getting back home) but I’m struggling to find the literary culture here, the arts. Even the alternative paper is incredibly thin. Maybe it’s because Pittsburgh is so close. I’m not sure. The next time I’m here (and I know with another project coming in a few months, there will be a next time), I’ll have better luck.

At the local comic book shop, I picked up the first trade paperback of Brian K. Vaughn’s new series Saga. It’s really good and I’m going back to get the next trade paperback. If you are into space operas the way Brian K. Vaughn always wanted to write one, you’d be into it.

Speaking of comics, Bob Schofield did something incredibly cool with one of the parts of my prose poem prequel to Bodies Made of Smoke. I recommend checking out his writing and his art.

4532937475227648

I also have a poem in the latest issue of Black Heart Magazine, which you can check out here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,