I can finally share this.

fosterhome

My second collection of poetry, The Bones of Us, will be a graphic poetry collection published by YesYes Books in early 2014, with the immensely talented Adam Scott Mazer proving the illustrations (see above for example). A Kickstarter will come soon to help expand the print run, among other things. All of this has been worth the wait and I’m excited that y’all will get to see the finished product soon.

***

I have an incredibly short attention span when it comes to the projects I’m working on. One example is a recent one I started, writing prose poems based on snippets of profiles sampled on the OKCupid Juggalos Tumblr (and one of those poems is over here at Thousands Shades of Gray). Another is the ongoing struggle I have with the Jesus Christ, Boy Detective novel (and subsequent creative procrastination by writing the short stories).  And then there’s the J. J. Curry Ford side of the house where I want to write that mermaid/vampire teen paranormal romance I’ve got in me (because I enjoy writing absurd things and the concept of the teen paranormal romance genre is pretty absurd). The problem here is none of these projects have a deadline and I need someone to force me to finish one of these projects. I had that velocity when putting together the several drafts that The Bones of Us went through. I always have that velocity at work. Any advice on how to prioritize those projects where the deadlines are non-existent are helpful.

***

I’m two-thirds of the way through Rachel McKibbens’s new poetry collection Into the Dark & Emptying Field. It is dark, rich, and gorgeous, no less than what I expect from Rachel whenever I read or hear her work. She’s reading at the next Couplet Reading Series during the New York Poetry Festival (which I’m completely jealous about). If you haven’t bought the new collection yet, you should. This is one of my favorite poems from the collection.

***

Please vote for There Will Be Words as Best Literary Series (and me as best poet) over at the 2013 Best of Orlando poll here. I really want the win for There Will Be Words, but I’ll also take a win, too.

And finally, keep buying Bodies Made of Smoke. If you want an autographed copy, hit me up directly. If you want to hear it before buying it, check out my Spreecast from February here.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Your a busy man. You remind me of me when I was less old.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,