April 8, 2013

It’s Showtime

Editor’s Note: This is not going to be the most organized entry. 

I’m featuring at a poetry slam for the first time in almost a year next week (April 17) while I’m in St. Louis and I’m thrilled about it. I’m still pondering the set list (I have at least one new poem memorized so far). Here’s the details:

Since 1997 and before…
Every 3rd Wednesday of the Month
One lucky Poet wins a $50 Cash prize,
Audience Judged. Open to all.
$5 Door at 7pm. Show starts at 7:30pm.

The top 3 poets will feature @ 2720 Cherokee’s Free First Friday Art Show.

Sponsored by RAC, Left Bank Books, Dunaway Books, Mokabe’s Coffee, Maya Cafe, and YOU.

776-7370

Focal Point Concerts
2720 Sutton Blvd, Maplewood, Missouri 63143

***

I saw another sample for my upcoming YesYes Books collection. I’m not saying much right now except I am excited about the direction it’s going and y’all will see previews soon.

***

Haven’t done a lot of reading lately, partially because what I have on my Kindle isn’t exactly calling out to me. I know I need to get back to what I have, but eh.

***

I am thrilled with the music coming out in 2013. 2012 was dry and uninspiring. I only saw one concert last year, and The Afghan Whigs didn’t have a new album. I saw Jeff Mangum in January with Laura and we’re seeing The National in June in Brooklyn.

This morning, The National released their first single from their new album. It was too early for me to comprehend it (I have an iTunes season pass for Mad Men and I woke up at five in the morning to watch the season premiere). Tonight, I listened to it a few times and read the lyrics.

High Violet came out in the beginning of my separation/divorce and it became the soundtrack of that, salt in a wound when I needed the emotional velocity to write. I’m in a much better place now. This song is heartbreaking and gorgeous. It’ll be the first time I’ve listened to The National when happy.

***

I got my first customer review at Powell’s for Bodies Made of Smoke.

It’s really cool to see that kind of feedback, humbling and flattering.

***

I have two poems over at The Subterranean Quarterly, which you can read here and here.

I have a piece of flash fiction over at Litbomb here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

flash fiction, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,