It’s National Poetry Month, and as usual for National Poetry Month, I write more fiction, because there’s enough people writing poetry only during this month. I built the first draft of Bodies Made of Smoke around that time in 2011. I was writing flash fiction in 2010, and chasing after Jesus Christ, Boy Detective in 2012.

I get writers need a challenge to get them going, but this challenge could be done at any time, not just a month. I only hope that when people decided to submit these poems written during this time that they are revised and that, if I see them when I’m reading for a magazine, I enjoy them.

***

Literary fiction is fucking boring. I agree, wholeheartedly. I read Karen Russell’s latest short story collection and it left nothing behind after I finished it. I did finally finish Scott McClanahan’s Crapalachia: A Biography of a Place, which I strongly recommend buying and reading. I enjoyed his down-to-earth storytelling style in Stories V and he makes it work incredibly well in this book. I’m working my way through Sam Pink’s Rontel at the moment.

***

Capitalism is what will get me to write more poems during National Poetry Month. Buy a copy of Bodies Made of Smoke through Powell’s, Amazon, or through me, send me proof of purchase, and I will personally write you a poem and mail it to you as a thank you.

***

I’m back in Safety Pin Review. Check it out below.

The Fiddleback published an excerpt of my novel-in-progress (tentatively titled Jesus Christ, Boy Detective and The Royal Flush of Fate), which you can check out here.

 

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,