March 24, 2013

You Are The Product

As a creative person, you have to think of yourself as a product, from the way you brand yourself to the way you sell your work in public. One of the things I’ve always struggled with is selling my work to people and I’m not sure why.

I know I can be a bit unlikable at times. I struggled with likability when I used to run a poetry slam a long time ago, partially because of my own immature behavior. I am critical, almost to the point where I am unafraid to heckle what I hear at an open mic if it’s really bad (hence why I don’t go to them any more).

I’m immensely proud of Bodies Made of Smoke and the reviews for it have been excellent so far, like this latest one. I’m doing ok with selling the book in person or through one-on-one interactions online. The neat trick is getting strangers to buy copies of it and I’m not entirely sure how to do that; this is the most frustrating part of writing, getting it in peoples hands after all is done and revised. I’m working on it and I think that’s something any writer has to work on.

***

I have a poem in the latest issue of Prick of the Spindle, which you can read here.

I have a new piece in the Winter issue of Short, Fast and Deadly, which you can read here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , ,