My girlfriend did something really cool for me for Valentine’s Day. She wrote 14 poems documenting our relationship thus far and timed them to show up one by one in my inbox at the top of the hour. I was really touched by the thoughtfulness and the care she took to pull this off and the poems.

Earlier, we made dinner for my mom and younger brother. I’ve met her (awesome) family and finally had the chance to have her meet mine. We made chicken and pork fajitas for them and everything turned out excellent. This was the first time in a long time, if ever, I made dinner for my family with someone I’m dating. We work well together in the kitchen. It’s incredible.

***

I’ve asked folks to beta-test a secret project I put together using Adobe Captivate 6. The feedback I’ve received has been incredibly helpful. I can’t say much right now but once it is out there, you’ll see what I’ve been up to. I’ll want to use this as a way to deploy a choose-your-own adventure story possibly involving the Jesus Christ, Boy Detective series.

I am reaching a wall again regarding the series where I’m starting to lose interest. I haven’t written a non-JCBD short story in awhile and I might need to do that before I continue start working on the series. I’m not quite sure how to untangle myself from this near obsession of writing these stories. Maybe I don’t have to.

***

I have a love poem up at Escape Into Life, which you can check out here.

I have a poem up at Theodate, which you can check out here.

Transatlanticism is my latest poetry e-chapbook from Artistically Declined Press. It’s a retelling of the Death Cab For Cutie album. You can download it from and rate it on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,