February 11, 2013

PechaKucha, I Choose You!

This past Thursday, I did my first ever Spreecast show, reading Bodies Made of Smoke and then doing Q & A about the book and other projects. The really cool thing about Spreecast is that it archives the show so people can take a look at it at their own convenience, which you can actually do here. I’ll probably use this for future shows or smaller projects that I don’t want to do a tour for.

Also, Bodies Made of Smoke is now carried by Powell’s. It’s nice to have a small piece of me in Portland.

Bodies Made of Smoke now among other books at Powell’s.

Friday, I had the honor and privilege to be a part of Orlando’s PechaKucha Night v 9.

I’ve spent the last month rehearsing, revising, getting the timing down of my talk. At first, being proverbially whipped by an auto-timed PowerPoint is a frightening prospect but like any format, the structure shouldn’t limit you, only challenge what you can do within that time frame.

First off, I want you to all marvel at how cool Orlando is because 300 people came on a Friday night to see us all talk on our various topics.

Second, all of the presenters were absolutely on point and amazing and I’m glad to have had the chance to meet them and perform with them. This was the best performance experience I have had to date.

If you have a PechaKucha night in your city, go. If you are a performer and you have a PechaKucha night and have never done it before, do it. If you don’t have a PechaKucha night in your city, start one. It’s an amazing, entertaining event, and you learn quite a bit about your city based on who is presenting.

My talk (Celebrating Our Failures) was on failure and becoming a better writer, talking about some of my lessons learned and processes as a writer. I’ll get to deliver it again in March at a Rotary Club meeting during my creative vacation.

***

Escape Into Life was kind enough to feature four of my poems recently. You can check them out here.

Also, I know I’ve posted this before, but I love the Bodies Made of Smoke book trailer. It says a lot without saying anything. If you haven’t gotten your copy yet, get it from Powell’s or Amazon or even me.

Leave a comment

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news, self assessment, videos

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,