February 5, 2013

Returning to Love

This past weekend, I moved out of the apartment my ex-wife and I shared.

I’ve written about the divorce a lot and I’ve gradually gotten away from it as time passed. I spent nine years at that apartment complex, wallowing in failure in one way or another. This move was the last thing I needed to finally move on from it, from a lot of things.

A toast waiting to happen in my new home.

A toast waiting to happen in my new home.

The new place is quiet. I can’t hear traffic and accidents like I could where I used to live. I also can’t seem to escape Amscots and vacant supermarkets/K-Marts no matter where I go.

***

Google Maps has a wicked sense of humor when it provides directions for bicycles. On my first run to my new office this morning, it took me onto a gravel, single lane road where my road bike had moments of slipping out from beneath me. There are actual elevated roads also in the new neighborhood, which I’m also not used to yet. On the way home, the last road has several unlit areas, which my bike lights help in getting through that. I think I stumbled onto the small square that is historic Longwood but I’m not sure. I’m surviving this adventure so far.

***

People keep loving Bodies Made of Smoke.

I poemed the news for CBS Chicago. You can read that over here.

There Will Be Words is the second best literary event in Orlando according to the voters at The Daily City’s Best of  Orlando 2013 poll. Thanks for making us number two in your hearts and not on your chest.

This Thursday from 9-10 pm EST, I am doing my first Spreecast where I’ll read Bodies Made of Smoke and answer Q & A about the book and other projects I’m working on. You can bookmark the link to it here.

This Friday, I will be presenting at my very first Pecha Kucha night. You can check more about that here. I suggest strongly to get there early because the venue gets packed quickly.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Google Maps has a sense of humor when it is providing directions for any form of transportation. Which is why the have their disclosure. Can’t trust them, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,