Due to a promotion, I’m moving out of the apartment my ex-wife and I shared at the end of January so I can make my new position work. The divestment of things has been cleansing. I stumble onto things that were hers or that she left behind that I gave her and throw them into garbage bags without hesitation. The boxes are slowly stacking, slowly but surely.

I think I’ve been in mourning for a couple of years over the death of the marriage and relationship, as it was the first relationship I’ve ever had with someone that lasted more than eleven months. What I used to know when it came with processing the end of something, what I used to do, didn’t work for this. I haven’t felt such lightness in years.

***

2013, I’m pushing myself to do things I haven’t done yet. Here’s a couple I’m sharing with y’all.

First, here’s the information about my online love poem workshop on January 20 at 2pm EST. It’ll take two hours of your time and it’s pretty cheap (the purchase of one of my books directly from me). If you’ve never written a love poem before, I’ll help you get started with it through this workshop.

Second, I am doing an online reading of Bodies Made of Smoke and Q&A session about the book and other projects on February 7 at 9pm EST. You can check that out here.

I miss performing very badly and I’m making more opportunities to do such this year to get myself ready for the next poetry collection coming out.

***

I have a poem over at ILK Journal that you should check out here. I finally got in on the sixth try. I also have a poem over here at Saudade Review.

Some how, I’m in the running for my reading series’ best of show in May. To vote for who should read at the best of show at There Will Be Words, click here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances, poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,