Last night, I went to the Enzian to watch Miami ConnectionFrom 2003 to 2004, I worked for the guy who made the film as his assistant writer (and helped him write this). I told my friend who came with I expected that the place would be filled with people who went to one of his martial art schools and family and friends of those who did. It’s strange to see people wearing martial art uniforms in a movie theatre. And children. At an R-rated film. With excessive violence and surprise tits (as movies in the 80s had). The entire experience was a glorious train wreck. My favorite part of the night was the fact that I wasn’t recognized by any of those who I used to work with (even the man himself). The beard is much like a cloak of invisibility (except to women who are awesome).

Today marks the halfway point of my self-imposed relationship exile and I’ve learned a lot. I backslid a little but recognized the consequences of doing so. Let’s see if I can hold out sans relationship for three more months.

There’s already been a lot of rage, reaction, and discussion regarding the woulds and shoulds regarding the Sandy Hook shootings on Friday. As with every mall/school/movie theatre shooting, there’s this rage on both sides that occur but after a period of time, we go back to where we were before the shooting occurred and when another one happens, we go back to being enraged. I don’t see this changing any time soon because that’s the pattern we fall into. Humans were designed to destroy themselves and if you go with the theory that more God needs to be in schools, I present The Old Testament where God is a murderous asshole, which if you believe in that sort of thing, we were made in that image: destructive assholes. Again, some of us resist this predisposed nature. My response to the shooting is here over at New Verse News.

Mungbeing Magazine was kind enough to publish one of my Jesus Christ, Boy Detective stories, which you can check out here, along with my old bio.

Have you bought your copy of Bodies Made of Smoke yet? No? Then do it here. Before the world ends, or something.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,