October 10, 2012

Backstroking

Last May, James Tadd Adcox talked of putting together an anthology about angels with many terrible heads and etiquette after our Cinco de Awesome reading at Quimby’s. I was surprised when he came to me to contribute to it. I was surprised to see my boss over at NAP put it together. I saw it last night, and it is the most gorgeous e-book I ever seen. Click on the cover to get to it and check out the insane brilliance.

I went to Williamsburg for 24 hours to see The Afghan Whigs this past weekend and while it didn’t provide the catharsis The Cure provided last year, the trip gave me quite the recharge, feeling fall weather for the first time this year, seeing a concert for the first time since The Cure last year.

I’m liveblogging my restructuring and reevaluation and I am making progress in admitting some hard truths to myself. I recognize that I cannot casually just share my life with someone. I am a busy guy and I want someone who will contribute to it positively, not become a weight. I also recognize that I have a problem speaking up when I need to, allowing my politeness to be my downfall at times. I’m working on it, I swear.

Next Wednesday, I will read smut at The Peacock Room. Show starts around 9. Let me turn you on. Or out. Or off.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , ,