September 30, 2012

Speak My Language

My work has been officially translated into a different language and this is a really cool honor. P. Jonas Bekker liked my chapbook, A Patchwork of Rooms Furnished by Mistakes so much, he asked to translate them into Dutch. I wasn’t expecting them to be published and it was a nice surprise when he told me Blue Turns Grey took them. It’s interesting to see the Google translate turn them from Dutch to English, how much is changed or lost. You can check out the Dutch version of the chapbook here.

Justin Sirois and I read together for the first time this past Tuesday and I read a Jesus Christ, Boy Detective story and the chapbook and I recalled the emotions when I wrote those poems and they weren’t painful at all to read aloud (unlike a certain other book). Also, Justin is a pretty awesome guy and a terrific writer. I just finished his novel Falcons on the Floor and enjoyed it a lot.

It’s interesting how movies like Red Dawn celebrate Americans when they are essentially insurgents but yet Iraqis doing the same thing in Fallujah (and overall in Iraq during the second Iraq war) are looked down upon. I would be interested in seeing a Red Dawnesque movie from that perspective.

Go see Looper and Robot & Frank if you can. Both are great science fiction movies that bend traditional sci-fi tropes (time travel, robots).

Due to a business trip that came up, I had to reschedule my talk at Orlando’s Pecha Kucha night. I am incredibly saddened by this and hope I don’t have to reschedule this again. However, I will be appearing at the next Hump Day show at The Peacock Room on October 17. This is was a lot of fun last time and I’m looking forward to doing it again.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, ,