August 20, 2012

The Weight Is Off

In 2009, I answered an ad on PANK‘s blog looking for a copyeditor, a way to get a foothold into something outside of poetry slam, and they accepted my application. One of the perks of copyediting was also writing interview questions for the contributors to the online portion (which in my then slam world, was a nice crossover when Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz became the first person I interviewed for the magazine). I proved to be a shitty copyeditor with the work stress, the marriage stress, the first book tour/promotion stress, the drinking to cope with that stress. However, people really liked the interviews. For the first time I think ever, people liked me. It was strange. PANK also recognized my interview skills and granted me the post of Interviews Editor on March of 2010; I finally felt like a cool kid.

PANK has been a lot of things to me. It was a gateway to a whole other universe of literature I wasn’t aware of being so focused on running a poetry slam. It allowed me to meet incredible writers and find out their human side through their willingness to answer my interview questions (and y’all have been good sports). It kicked open new doors, eventually leading me to posts with NAP and now Monkeybicycle.

The June online issue will be my last as Interviews Editor of PANK. I walk away from this happily and freely, proud that I had the honor and the privilege to contribute to the PANKverse for nearly three years. I wish those who will be eventually taking up the mantle great success, and that PANK continue kicking ass and taking names.

I also decided I will now be participating in grad school after all. My work schedule is too busy and the class syllabus places 3/5 of the class grade on group work. I work in groups where I am paid to work in groups, where there are clear financial consequences if you don’t play well with others. My experience with group work in school on the other hand has been miserable at best. Instead, I will be buying a new computer and subscribing to some software to hone my technical skills (thinking Mac).

These past few days, Monkeybicycle has published my first couple of selections as their new Web Editor. You should read them here and here.

I have a flash piece in the latest issue of A-Minor Magazine, which you should read here.

I have taken over filming There Will Be Words, which you should check out here (and we are always looking for submissions here).

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

flash fiction, publication news

Tags

, , , ,