I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately and it was from a combination of things (the awfulness of the Fringe Poetry Smackdown, then going to Memphis for ten days where my diet consisted of the lesser evils of chain restaurant food and really not leaving my hotel room unless it was for work or to eat something or hit the treadmill). I’m getting my footing back thanks to a largely vegetarian diet and continuing to work out (I walk home from work as of late – it’s a good four mile hike) but it’s awful being mired in a deep state of ennui for an extended period of time.

This week’s involved a lot of proofreading of my upcoming Housefire novella, Bodies Made of Smoke. I’m proud of what Housefire and I have done with the manuscript. I can’t wait until y’all see how we improved it (soon, soon).

A year or so ago, I had the chance to be the guest Poetry Editor for the Ampersand Review. Rather than sift through the slush pile, I reached out to poets I enjoyed reading and solicited work directly (some you can read online here – the last three poems on the page). The rest though, you’ll have to buy the issue and bask in the amazingness (I also included two poems from my upcoming Gentlemen chapbook).

Behold it’s amazingness!

I don’t listen to radio and that makes me a bit behind the times when it comes to what is currently “in” musically, like Frank Ocean’s LoveCrimes. How I came to discover this song was because one of my favorite bands, The Afghan Whigs, covers this song as part of their set list. To sum up the song, a boy, using smoke mirrors, possibly impregnates a girl, and has no problem being the baby daddy and is willing to risk a “long vacation for two” for a “smooth ride”. I listened to both versions (Ocean’s and The Afghan Whigs cover) and the cover is a bit more sinister and definitely superior than the original. Check out the cover below.

I am reading this Sunday at the Time For Prose reading series at Urban Rethink as part of my celebration of (I’m Not The) Father’s Day. I’ll be reading flash fiction heard and unheard before. Show starts at 8pm and is free. Click here for more details.

I have a little something in Narcissist Magazine here. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , ,