My girlfriend and I went to a bridal/groom shower for one of my best friends and his fiance this past Sunday, the first time I’ve been exposed to anything wedding related post-divorce. The best way to describe where it was held  would be that it hosted one of Hilary Clinton’s fundraisers during the last presidential election cycle.

Marriage isn’t necessarily a celebration of love, the joining of two families. To some extent, it’s a pageantry of control, whether it be the bride, or the families involved. The length of time between the will you’s and I do’s can be Hell because of the planning and the details one must figure out. While planning my wedding, I gave my mom and my soon to be mother in law shit over the font and the color of the text on our wedding invitations; the madness hits everyone.

My best friend and his fiance have thrown traditional wedding planning wisdom out the window. They gave themselves mere months from the will you’s to the I do’s to plan everything and based on what I’ve heard, this will probably be the best wedding I’ve ever been to. However to keep the peace, they had to concede to their families throwing them a bridal/groom shower.

The shower was lovely. My girlfriend bonded with my other best friend through their mutual snarkiness of the dog-and-pony show of the event, the ceremony of the soon-to-be bride and groom opening their various gifts from Bed, Bath and Beyond, everyone watching and oohing, aahing at steamers, chip and dip sets, towels, us watching how awkward the soon-to-be married couple looked being the center of attention.

The benefit of being divorced is that if you want to get married again, you get a free pass to do what you want since your family already satisfied their thirst for nuptials the first time around. I’m not adverse to doing it again, and should my girlfriend stick around long enough, I’d be glad to do it on our terms, not anyone else’s.

***

I messed up. I thought the Fringe Toast Off was last Friday and I was so wrong. It’s actually this Friday. Come, watch me drink and be witty. More details are here.

***

It has been a veritable fiction explosion over here.

First, I have something small up at Nanoism. It’ll take you all of two seconds to check out here.

Second, my first standalone Jesus Christ, Boy Detective story is out, which you can check out here.

Finally, I have a story up at Nontrue from my We Will Celebrate Our Failures cycle, which you can read here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

publication news

Tags

, , , , , ,