May 17, 2012

Matryoshka

When it comes to getting my name out there as a writer, I’ve always taken the shotgun approach, where the theory is that the more I appear, the more I put out, the more I tour, the more people will come to me, read my work, buy my work. I’m realizing this approach isn’t working like I thought I would.

Case in point: I performed three times in the same city a couple of weeks ago at three distinctly different venues. I sold a total of seven or eight books. I sold none at my AWP readings in Chicago (and I read three times at three distinctly different venues). I know writers who hardly tour (or never tour or read) and their work sells quite well and I think part of it (other than the quality of the work) is that they hardly/rarely tour or read in public and that adds to the importance, the gravity of their appearances. I’m not Bruce Springsteen or The Cure, who can do multiple shows in one city and sell out every single one, tickets and merch wise.

For me to get to the next level, it’s time for me to start becoming a little more reclusive, a little more selective to when I read, where I submit my work, how often I read in a single city. I think making myself a little more scarce from a performance perspective will be better overall for everyone.

***

I am so proud to announce that the first issue of NAP that had me as the Falconer of Fiction is out and it is so good. Diana Salier, my poetry editor counterpart, and I, put together this really kick ass issue that you should enjoy here.

If you are in Orlando tomorrow, Friday, May 17, there are two shows you need to see.

  1. Page 15 put out their first collection of stories called Wars Are Dumb and the book release party is tomorrow at Urban Rethink starting at 6 pm. Check out the literary future of Orlando. (Learn more about the project and the show here.)
  2. The Orlando Fringe Festival is in full swing and I’ll be in the Fringe Toast-Off tomorrow night at 10pm at the outdoor stage. These things are incredibly fun and fucked up thanks to the combination of wits and alcohol. The best part is that this is free! (Learn more about the show here.)

I contributed “On Writing ‘On How An Autobot Sunk The Titanic‘” to the Toasted Cake podcast. I don’t normally enjoy hearing other people read my work but Tina Connolly read it really well. For my trouble, I got $5 in cash and this nice card in the mail.

You’re welcome.

Finally, I have a poem in the May issue of Word Riot, which you can check out  here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, poetry, publication news, self assessment, Uncategorized

Tags

, , , , , , , ,