April 3, 2012

I Wish I Was Special

It’s been ages since we’ve talked. Ages. Let’s get down to business.

The first five hundred words of Jesus Christ, Boy Detective and The Royal Flush of Fate is up over at Unshod Quills. You should read it here.

The novel is just a hair under the 33,000 mark. I think this weekend while I’m out of town, I’ll make some serious progress (hopefully).

This is why I’ll be out of town this weekend by the way.

Yes, Atlanta, that’s this Friday. This will be my first time reading in Atlanta since July 2010, while I was in the process of my divorce. Come witness an emotionally unfettered J. Bradley do things with literature that will make you go ass to ass with a stranger for it by the end of the night (ass-to-ass).

I put together a page here on my We Will Celebrate Our Failures release party two weeks from this Thursday, which you can check out here.

There is a good chance that while I’m in Portland, my novella through HOUSEFIRE will come out provided everything goes right and I want everything to go right so badly. They released another promo still today, which you can check out below.

I don’t normally talk about upcoming poems coming out in a magazine, but this one is worth mentioning. Last Thursday, I got a poem accepted into Prairie Schooner. To say this is a major win is accurate. I work my ass off as a writer and I know my style of poetry is unusual at times and not conducive to everyone and that could be said with writing or art in general. When I got the acceptance, yes, there was a girlish scream, and drinking of almost a full bottle of $3 wine to celebrate. Then I got four rejections but so what. The secret to this game we call writing is acknowledging that you will die one day. When you accept your mortality, you become very motivated to get shit done.

The sequel to Drive came out and I bought it and read it on my Kindle this morning. Enjoyed it tremendously and am reading it again. I am hoping, hoping they adapt it into a film because it deserves to be seen on the big screen. Ryan Gosling knows how to be heartbroken. Not giving y’all spoiler alerts, though, but seriously Driven is so good (and I’m listening to this I write this paragraph).

That’s it from me for now. Hope to see you this Friday in the ATL.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , , , , ,