I broke off a professional relationship earlier this week and I almost blogged about the specifics until I stepped back for a moment and recognized it was not the adult thing to do. I instead e-mailed this person why I would no longer work with them, handling the situation directly like an adult. Like any relationship, once you recognize it has become disproportional where you give and give and give and do not receive the same energy and attention, you have to walk away. I might work with them again if they are willing to repair things but until them, I’ve got bigger and better things to do like:

I’m putting together a release party for my NAP chap, We Will Celebrate Our Failures and the line up is so killer so far. I’ll release more details as I get it together, but if you want to check out the Facebook invite, go here.

I have a five story collection coming out through KUBOA on March 31 called It Smells Like Plastic And Hurt Feelings and I’m excited about this, the progression of my fiction collections getting longer and longer. The novel is coming along slow but would love to get a full short story collection out before then.

This week has been kind to me. The fine folks over at The Eggshell Parade read this poem on their radio show, I was featured on InDigest Magazine’s Poem of the Day Podcast15 Views of Orlando got a really good review over at Saw Palm, and I’ve got three new flash pieces up at Untoward, which you can check out here.

Tomorrow, if you are in the Tampa/Ybor City area, check me out reading some non-fiction here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

flash fiction, publication news

Tags

, , , , ,