I talk a lot about the career stuff here and a little about the personal stuff because the personal intersects with the writing. A couple of posts ago, I talked about my writing accomplishments. Part of everything that has happened wouldn’t have been possible with the personal accomplishments and reflections.

2010 was about surviving the wreckage and clearing it away. 2011 was about stopping the wreckage from happening again.

In the context of romantic relationships, I’ve finally learned to stop promising forever, stop promising family and marriage and babies. I’ve come to terms that all of these things are things I don’t want (I’m scared of the babies part. Fatherhood just isn’t in the cards for me). I’ve finally accepted to just let things happen and make no long term guarantees to any one. However, I am awful at breaking things off with people when they just aren’t working out, and that is something I have to work on. I know though what a healthy relationship looks like and how to maintain one.

Non-writing career wise, I’ve picked up a lot of new and worthwhile skills, skills I look forward to applying to all aspects of my life.

Overall, I’m liking who I am and where I’m going. I hope you do, too.

***

I wrote a little Christmas story that you can check out here in Pipe Dream.

The final installment of Dancing With Steinbrenner is now up at The Squawk Back, which you can read here.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Speaking of The Squawk Back, you may want to have a look here: Found this on Reddit and it doesn’t speak well of the site’s owner or the publication.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the link. It’s things like this that make me keep my mouth shut when someone provides a questionable review of work that is published of mine. I don’t have time for a flame war. The Internet is a dangerous place to live after all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , ,