December 2, 2011

The Colors Scream

I’m notoriously bad to myself when it comes to sleep. I get about 4-5 hours a night except during the weekend. During my trip to NYC, I didn’t really sleep at all and that got interesting. My body caught up with me last night and I started nodding off when I was working on my third novella and I slept on and off the couch before going to bed. Here’s the dream I had:

I lived in Downtown Orlando and I was walking with a large steel pipe/staff in my hand to go see a show at The Social. I also had to deposit a check at a bank. I went around back of the venue and I see a guy in a fur coat talking to the guard at the backdoor and the guy in the fur coat is all “You need to let me in, man. This is supposed to be a big surprise.” I recognize the guy in the fur coat and it’s Greg (fucking) Dulli. Then, I make out the guard and it’s Diamond Dallas Page. I tell them I know them both, I remember them both, and DDP bitches about how he’s now like Vincent, the New World Order faction enforcer, having to work these bodyguard gigs. I laugh and make my way to the bank where when I try depositing my check (and a handwritten poem), I get maced and arrested by the Sheriff’s Deputy. Once I explain what I handed to the teller was a poem to put in the bank for safe keeping, he let me go but not before gathering my fingerprints. That’s the last thing I remember.

My flight back to NYC was delayed because of JetBlue (mechanical failures). I complained and got a $50 credit. For some reason, I can’t seem to find a flight to Portland from them so this credit might be useless. I’m also thinking about going to Atlanta for a weekend to do some shows, possibly after Bodies Made of Smoke comes out.

Two magazines will be publishing excerpts of the prequel of Bodies, We Have Such Lovely Parting Gifts. I hope someone picks up the whole damn thing.

Work on the third novella, Dancing with Steinbrenner, is slow but I like it like this. This is the first long story that doesn’t involve gods and swords and blood and Highlander fetishes. You might see parts of it pop up soon.

Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to get dressed to work I go.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

self assessment

Tags

, , , , , , , ,