November 26, 2011

Hustle Hard

The twelve hour work days haven’t kicked my ass strangely enough. In fact, I’ve conditioned myself these past couple of weeks of getting used to working from 9:30 am to 8:00 pm. In between, I’m writing poems or working on the first not-crazy-ass novella. I just have about four more weeks of this to go and I know I can do this. I have to.

This weekend will be an adventure, one that I may have to expand on as a non-fiction piece. I should be sleeping but I don’t know how to get myself there. To go somewhere for 24 hours and then head into work right after is something out of my comfort zone. Here’s to surviving it.

The house thing has become a total clusterfuck. I have no idea when I’m moving (or even when I can try again to close) and now, I have to give 60-day notice instead of 30-day notice. Christmas is going to be super cheap.

I dread this time of year because of the incessant music, the garish colors, the misery Christmas inflicts on people. I want the holidays to go away quickly so the new year can come along. I’m glad not to be married so I don’t have to worry about buying gifts for in-laws and dealing with in-laws and drinking because I’m dealing with in-laws. I like to drink for happy reasons, not to numb the domestic drama going on around me.

Based on this photo when I was in Barnes & Noble earlier, I feel a genre novel coming on. The love story between a moody vampire and a lovelorn mermaid must be told. Indeed, it must be told.

As if we don't have enough questionably consensual sex in teen lit today.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

self assessment

Tags

, , ,