November 14, 2011

Crossover Appeal

I’ve had a pretty busy weekend.

Saturday, I saw my very first puppet slam over at Urban ReThink and it was a lot of fun. There were a couple of shows I didn’t care for but overall, it was a great experience and I would love to see another puppet slam again.

Earlier/last night (depending on when you are reading this), was Orlando’s second Literary Death Match. Before the show began, we had a surprise last minute cancellation. Thankfully with a lobby full of talented writers, I was able to pull Nathan Holic in at the last second to participate. I was the literary merit judge this time for Literary Death Match and everything I heard from this episode’s competitors was outstanding (Rachel Leona Kapitan, J. Christopher Silvia and the eventual winner, Tod Caviness). Despite all the threats of me being East German at the show, I wasn’t at all. It was really nice to listen to everyone and also provide vague, witty feedback.

I’m someone who always moves forward and because of this, I have this habit of thinking I don’t ever do enough and yet when I pause for a moment, I’ve done a lot this year, personally, artistically, and professionally. When I reach that time to take stock in everything I’ve accomplished in 2011, I will, but for now I’m going to keep pushing forward.

Esmeralda got its first review through Sabotage and I’m really happy with it. You can read the review here and then buy a copy of the chapbook here (If you live outside of America, buy it here). I fully plan on memorizing and performing it next year at the Portland Poetry Slam when I’m out there on my birthday (May 6).

I haven’t written poems lately. I’m breaking the pattern of writing about women who I am into or dating, which is why I have focused on writing longer stories as of late. I’m 20% into the next novelette/novella and it’s a baseball related one, which is different for me. I’m also keeping my current relationship private to the Internet. In real life on the other hand, you’ll meet her if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

poetry

Tags

, , , , ,