October 9, 2011

Flying Circles In A Jar

I went to Death Cab For Cutie last night with a friend and I have some observations.

I can’t listen to music made by people who haven’t lived, haven’t had their hearts properly kicked in and it’s because of this, Surfer Blood is such a boring band. If you look at the trajectory of The Cure, you’ll see how life (and drugs) influenced their music and it took them twelve years to create something like Disintegration. It’s why I like The Afghan Whigs more than Nirvana and The Smashing Pumpkins combined because now that I’ve had my heart properly kicked, I relate to The Afghan Whigs far more.

Death Cab however put on an incredible show, one that almost made me wonder if Ben Gibbard was on something and he probably was, his wife. I had to walk out to the smoking area where after singing “What Sarah Said”, which ends with “Love is watching someone die”, I see just Ben with an acoustic guitar as the opening part of “I Will Follow You Into The Dark” hits the door as I’m stepping outside (this poem might give you a better frame of reference). It was a great show, but it also made me realize something that I won’t share here. It does confirm though that I have a ways to go before I’m ready to put myself back into a relationship construct of any kind.

Also, I noticed that the buses going to and from the House of Blues at Downtown Disney were coming and going really late and after I did some research, I found out that the buses going to and from Downtown Orlando to Downtown Disney runs really late. As someone who does not drive, this is awesome. I am going to TV on the Radio at the end of the month, who I’ve never seen live. I’ve also never gone to a concert by myself. I’ve gone to three movies by myself (all bad superhero films). I might push myself outside of my comfort zone here and go by myself. We’ll see.

I’ve listened to the RISK! podcast a lot lately. It’s a longer, more fun form of The Moth type storytelling. If you like to write or tell a good story, listen to it.

I will be the literary merit judge at the next Orlando Literary Death Match on November 13. Go here to find out who else will be reading, judging, and how you can get tickets really cheap now.

Oh and again, you should probably buy this.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, self assessment

Tags

, , ,