The last two days a metric fuckton of things of mine have come out. I’m going to advise you in what order you should check them out based on personal significance.

I took myself to an incredibly uncomfortable place last week after writing this. It was hard to write the words, almost gut wrenching. I used The Twilight Singers album Blackberry Belle as an engine to keep me focused. I wavered here and there as I walked the highwire. I almost broke my chin when I reached the other side. At first after I finished, I was sick to my stomach, scared of the things I’ve said, things I’m admitting to and I didn’t want to try and get it out there but I had to. You sometimes have to face that darkness and write about it because that’s the only way you can confront it and change it. You have no right to call anyone out on their bullshit if you can’t call yourself out on it. The Legendary was brave enough to publish it in their latest issue, which you can read here.

I was a bit floored when the shadowy cabal of Kill Author approached me to write the introduction to Issue 15. Initially, I wasn’t sure how I was going to pull everything together until some bizarreness in my personal life happened and I used it as the primary threadwork of the introduction. It’s a terrific issue. I only hope my intro served it justice, which you can read over here.

I’m always honored when I get picked to be in a debut issue. It’s even a larger honor when your work is the entire issue. HOOT Review is really cool and one of the rare markets that pays if you get accepted in the paper edition. They did something really fun with “Are We The Dining Dead?” and you can take a look at that here.

I wrote a side story in the Bodies Made of Smoke universe. HOUSEFIRE, the fine folks who will publish the novella this fall, published it. You can read that over here.

I have three poems in this issue of Vinyl Poetry. Why do I write poems that are more beautiful than the actual relationship it was about? I don’t know. I should probably stop. Or not. You can read them here.

New Verse News was nice enough to publish my reaction to the Amanda Knox acquittal, which you can read here.

Literary Death Match is coming back to Orlando on November 13 and this time, I get to be one of the judges, for literary merit. I plan on being hilariously east German about the affair. As soon as the website has more details, I will link you to it. This show will feature as the competitors Orlando’s best spoken word artist, Tod Caviness, indie lit celebrity Kat Dixon, the king of Lobsterfest JC Silva, and the dazzlingly dangerous Rachel Leona Kapitan. This is going to be an epic show, kids. Epic.

The Serial Rapist Sitting Behind You is a Robot is now available on Kindle and will be available on iBooks and BN.com (for you NOOK users). The best part: it is super cheap! You should probably buy it and you can here.

Booking this month’s There Will Be Words has been a challenge to say the least. One writer went missing. Another writer couldn’t meet deadline. Luckily, I had something in tap and one of our readers from the first There Will Be Words stepped up and wrote a story in mere hours. This shows me some areas of opportunity in terms of booking I need to be better at. However, this show is going to be so fucking awesome, despite zee drama.

Finally, why haven’t you bought a copy of How Esmeralda Estrus Got Her Revenge? Hell, if you buy a Kindle copy of Rapist and prove it, I’ll ship the book for free. You should buy it here.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

organizing, poetry, publication news, self assessment

Tags

, , , , , ,