I went through the old Livejournal to find out where I was ten years ago, and I found it from an entry I wrote in 2003:

i was in bed when my mother got a call from my grandmother that she needed to turn on the t.v. when she did, she told me to turn it on. there they were, the video tapes playing over and over of the two planes slicing through those buildings. as i saw plane #2 go into the next building, Radiohead’s Pyramid Song just kept playing in my head. the slam that night had to be cancelled as UCF shut its doors.

i wasn’t quite sure how to feel.

I was fortunate enough that my grandfather was retired when it happened (he worked in one of the towers during the 1993 bombing) and I didn’t lose any one because of what happened. I’m more annoyed about how we reacted (terror color codes, bigger government, the trade of our civil rights for more protection, justifying the Iraq invasion, our increased unemployment rate, etc. etc.). While I agree that we should never forget, we should also learn from our mistakes and make better decisions.

My mother believes what is being used to keep us all separate politically is our social and ideological differences and I can see that. Karl Rove used the fear of gay marriage to get George W. Bush to get elected. The Tea Party used the fear of a black president to retake the House. We all essentially want the same thing: money in our pocket, a roof over our heads, food in our stomach, to be safe and secure. Sadly, we have a government that disagrees and until we do something about it, we will continue to have a government that keeps up separated whether by using God, guns, or our sexuality, and we will continue to make poor choices that divide us further.

The purchasing of the condo goes smoothly, so far. This week, the inspection and the HOA application process happens. The loan paperwork is in. It’s looking like if all goes well I’ll close at the end of the month and I’ll officially be one of those people who shakes their fist when my tax money is spent irresponsibly, but not in that Tea Party way. I believe in responsible spending and that global warming is real.

The CEO of Housefire Publishing, Riley Michael Parker, talked about the company in Smalldoggies. You can read the interview here.

I have a poem over at Atticus Review, which you can read here.

David Tomaloff says nice things about A Patchwork of Rooms Furnished by Mistakes here.

Finally, there’s been a line up change for this Saturday’s show over at Stardust. Sadly because of his health, Gregory Sherl had to pull out of the tour. Replacing him though will be Thomas Patrick Levy. I’m excited that I get to be in this awesome showcase of current and future YesYes Books authors. I’ll be doing some work from my upcoming book, We Will Live Like Our Ghosts Will Live, and work from other collections. It’ll be the first time in awhile I’ve done an all poetry set. It’ll be a great end to a big big week.

The novella/novel has reached a stop not because of creativity, but because of work and life. Work has been kicking my ass as of late and will continue to do so for awhile. Once things die down, I’ll hop back on it.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news, self assessment, Writing

Tags

, , , , , , , ,