We Will Live Like Our Ghosts Will Live will be published by YesYes Books in early 2013 and I can’t be happier that this MS has found a home in the right place. I owe tremendous debt gratitude to Write Bloody. If it wasn’t for making it to the shortlist, I wouldn’t have edited it into the lean, mean, emotionally ass kicking version it is now. I’m looking forward to working with YesYes in making this MS an incredible body of work.

I asked Ben Tanzer to blurb my Gentlemen chapbook and he had this to say:

With Gentlemen, J. Bradley retains his undisputed and still unbeaten status as Indy literature’s King of Pain. I assume of course, that one day Bradley will find happiness and love again, but I for one certainly won’t celebrate it. Bradley’s gain is our loss, and so if push comes to shove, and in Bradley’s work it always does, I much prefer he continues to suffer as only he can.

I feel like I should wear a crown or something.

I’ve memorized five poems so far from this project and when I’m rehearsing them, I’m digging into some of my darker places to give the poems the voice they deserve. The one above is “Gentlemen”. You should listen to it.

I was hanging out with my best friend earlier and we were talking about mortgages, how he got a 4.125% fixed rate one, how I could get an FHA one for the condo I’m looking at, and I realized that we were fucking old. I didn’t ask when did I become my father. What was the point?

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. […] sure and read this special announcement by our very own J. Bradley for some exciting […]

    Reply
  2. […] sure and read this special announcement by our very own J. Bradley for some exciting […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

fun with audio, performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, ,