August 7, 2011

Let Us Dance

The rejection onslaught continues for We Will Live Like Our Ghosts Will Live. I’m still trying to find it a good home and not quite sure what else I can do. If it needs another edit, I’ll do it, but I think it is where it belongs. I only hope a publisher somewhere sees that, too.

There Will Be Words #4 is this Tuesday over at Urban ReThink. Yesterday, I just accepted the first ever open submission on the Submishmash. I would love to see more writers submit to us who are in Orlando as this is a really great place for fiction writers to cut their teeth in a supportive audience. I love being able to go back and listen to the readings after the fact since I am in show mode and really can’t enjoy it until I am done with the show. So far, I’ve had more fun doing this show than I did with the slam. I don’t regret running the slam for so long as it gave me a lot of tools I use in and out of art world, but so far all the fiction writers I’ve dealt with for the show are nice, humble, and leave their egos at the door.

This week makes the second National Poetry Slam I’ll miss. It feels like it’s been longer than two years but it hasn’t. If it wasn’t for a larger project I am attached to for work, I would have gone, gotten drunk, and heckled some of the poets. I miss it for hanging out with some really cool people. I don’t miss the crippling doubt that the show caused especially when I was part of a team. I’ll admit I made a terrible coach and a terrible teammate because I hated group pieces and would never, ever be interested in writing one or being in one (most of them are nano community theater when you break them down). I also won’t miss the tragi-poems that the national level seems to be full of. I wrote this one as a parody of them. It never saw the light of day until now.

The latest installment of I Am Trying To Break Your Sex Laws is up, which you can check out here. I need your sex/dating questions. Send them to me, even if they are fake or really out there.

Finally, I have audio and text up in the latest issue of Kill Author, which you can read here.

 

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

fun with audio, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , ,