August 1, 2011

No Glove, No Love

“Excessive Force” is the second piece of non-fiction I’ve written and it hits close to home about the possibility of fatherhood. After the last breakup, I’ve realized that children are probably not going to happen for me, and that’s a choice I find myself that I’m pretty happy with. I do wish that more parents would teach their children the importance of protection and birth control and not just abstinence because abstinence doesn’t prevent curiosity or ignorance. I would also like a reality television show rewarding me for my good choices, but that’s just me. Then again, a show about me going to work, paying the bills, and condom shopping would be really, really boring. You can keep your $80,000 a season, seriously. Read the piece here. Listen to the piece here.

Later I’m at Urban ReThink. I will be reading Part 1 of Bodies Made of Smoke and poems from my Gentlemen chapbook that will be coming out later this year. The fun starts at 7pm over at 625 E. Central Blvd and it’s free. Here’s all the details (kind of).

I’m proud to announce that Blasted Press will be publishing Once, I Was An Angry Penguin in the fall. This chapbook will be the final in a trilogy of chapbooks (A Patchwork of Rooms Furnished by Mistakes, Our Hearts Are Power Ballads). Blasted Press makes some beautiful books. I can’t wait to see what mine will look like.

For those in Orlando, hope to see you at 7pm tonight.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances

Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,