I think sometimes I am a lazy bastard. I work long hours, sleep little, and am often run down because of this whole thing about sleep taking up a third of your life and how I want to cut that down to a fourth. However, I like being challenged from a writing perspective. Give me an assignment and bam, I am on that shit regardless of energy level or sanity (which is how I wrote this and this). Without that project or assignment though, I find myself unable to write long bodies of work or push myself to the brink. I juggle a lot but wish I had time to juggle more. I’m taking a staycation in August so I can finish my The Internet Is A Dangerous Place To Live MS and start whoring it out to publishers. If I could have one of those rooms from Dragonball Z where a week in the room equals an hour of time, I would be pretty happy. One Sunday in that room would allow me to get a fuckton done.

Jessica Maybury wrote this playfully threatening thing here. I actually responded to that challenge because, hey, ice picks are fun. This is what I sent her.

Climb

I am as hard as the icepick in your hand that your standing over me with while I’m in bed, the sheets so thick you cannot see the lone contractor building a new fort. I hope when you wound me, they are wide enough for your fingers to slide into. I’ll pretend I’m death rattling. I’ll pray you won’t find the graffiti of our future children inside the comforter.

I’m working on some shows in the winter in Atlanta and Portland. I am excited about both and I can’t wait to tell you all more about it but all the details are in the air for now. This will be related to Bodies Made of Smoke so this would be my first tour with fiction (maybe with some poetry thrown in).
I made a little video for the Make It So anthology. Here it is.
Stay golden.
Join the conversation! 5 Comments

  1. Yay for Atlanta. I will have money and be able to come see you perform and Bodies is an amazing piece!

    Reply
  2. Very nice post today thanks. I really enjoyed it. See you around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news, Writing

Tags

, ,