I’m a Write Bloody finalist. No, really, I’m a Write Bloody finalist. I was eating at this kick-ass vegetarian restaurant with creepy television propaganda when I saw on Facebook people congratulating people on making the list, I went on expecting not to be on it as I haven’t made the cut the last two years. You would have laughed at my school girl like squeals and if I landed on my ass and I would have been good with that. Now, I just have to hope they like my full MS.

To really do this writing thing, you have to be persistent. You can’t be afraid of rejection. You have to be able to constantly evaluate and re-evaluate yourself. You have to keep doubt away. It eventually pays off in the end. Promise.

Read at an art show last night with some of my favorite writers, and a couple of new ones. I heard a sad rumor and then confirmation that The Cameo Theatre was closing after last night’s show. They let me produce two really great shows there, and sadly one clusterfuck. It was a great space and I will miss it dearly.

I have two poems in the latest issue of NAP, which you can check out here, and then you should read this entire issue (for real). I also found out that my novella for HOUSEFIRE, Bodies Made of Smoke, will be published M-F the week of June 20. (you can read the first novella of the series here). Between that and A Patchwork of Rooms Furnished by Mistakes, that is a really big week for me.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, publication news

Tags

, , , ,