I’m feeling good about this week. The last two days have unveiled some awesomeness.

First off, I have poems in the latest SOFTBLOW you should check out, which you can read here.

My first ever piece of non-fiction is in the debut issue of Hippocampus Magazine. I’m not so much of a fashion victim now, but I have my moments. You can read it here or watch it below.

If you are in Chicago, this is where you can see me this week.

Wednesday, May 4 – 7:30 pm: The Encyclopedia Show presents Series 3, Volume 9: Flightless Birds (Vittum Theatre 1012 N Noble St $8 for adults, $5 for students w/valid IDs). My assignment is the Skeksis. Also, Tim Jones-Yelvington will be in the show with his assignment, Giving The Bird. This is an excellent show, so excellent there are Encyclopedia Shows across the globe. Trust me, it’s worth seeing.

Thursday, May 5 – 7:00 pm: Cinco de Awesome (Quimby’s – 1854 W. North Ave. Free!) I’m reading with Ben Tanzer, James Tadd Adcox, and Brandon Will, three Chicago indie lit heavyweights. This will be the only show you can get a copy of the critically acclaimed The Serial Rapist Sitting Behind You is a Robot, with an extra surprise inside. Also, buy a copy of Dodging Traffic from Quimby’s, and I’ll write a poem in it for you on the spot (this offer will also apply at The Encyclopedia Show). Come here first, get drunk on words, before you get actually drunk on this day of Mexican independence.

My latest label mate on Safety Third Enterprises, Frank Hinton, just came out with I Don’t Respect Female Expression. I had the honor of being one of 11 writers reading a piece from this chapbook for the audio version. If you are familiar with Hinton’s work, it is bizarre, transgressive at times, and excellent always. If not, this is the best way to get familiar real quick. After this chapbook, Safety Third will be on hiatus for a bit. It’s a shame, but this is one hell of a way to go out.

I submitted We Will Live Like Our Ghosts Will Live to Write Bloody for their open cattle call for MS’s. I never like my chances in it but will be hopeful this year.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performances, poetry, publication news

Tags

, , , ,