April 16, 2011

You Are Invited

I got my official invite to the May 4 edition of The Encyclopedia Show, but not my assignment. I know how busy these folks are so it will come all in due time. The fact I got the official invitation though makes me incredibly psyched.

I’ve had problems lately with people trying to book a feature at my soon-to-be-dead poetry slam who essentially aren’t doing their research. Here’s an e-mail from one of these folks as an example:

Hello,

I am writing this email to request some information about booking a feature for [redacted] to perform at The Fuze in the near future. I curious in regards to how soon can a show be booked, how much is payment (if any), and how is travel handled? Please get back to me with any information you have; it will be much appreciated.
Two things:
  1. My venue has a name, and The Fuze is not it. Calling the venue you are trying to perform at by the wrong name is like calling your sex partner the wrong name in the middle of fucking. The Fuze is a venue in Philadelphia, PA. My venue, Stardust Video & Coffee is in Orlando, FL. Major geography fail.
  2. My website tells you that April 21 is our last ever slam. If this person had read that information, they would have saved the two minutes it took to write this e-mail. It goes back to the original point: do your homework before booking a performance at a venue.
I went to UCF’s MFA reading tonight at the Kerouac House and while it was packed and engaging, it was full of peers instead of a mix of peers and strangers. I would think that celebrating a major accomplishment such as getting an MFA would be promoted better or at least placed in a larger, more comfortable venue, but that’s just me. I picked up a writer for the September edition of There Will Be Words and had a couple of glasses of wine so it was a productive evening.
Red Lightbulbs, a new literary magazine based out of Chicago, was nice enough to pick up a poem of mine for their first issue, which you can read here. Orange Alert was also nice enough to pick up the audio version, which you can hear here. Orange Alert is one of my all time favorite podcasts and if you haven’t jumped on board yet, you damn well should.
Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, performances, poetry, poetry slam organizing tips, publication news

Tags

, , , , ,