April 5, 2011

Off The Grid

My evil genius of a girlfriend evicted me from the Internet this past weekend. It was strange to be so disconnected from everything, except the occasional checking of e-mail. I’ve finally got my bearings back. I already miss 1406.

20110404-115301.jpg

The second prettiest view in the room.

One month until I go to Chicago. So far I have two shows, which I’ll formally announce by the end of the week. Last year this time, I was in Chicago. I just came back from my reading at Quimby’s, sat in a chair, drank a beer, and wondered what was going wrong with everything. It’s amazing what a difference a year makes.

My ex-wife and I are working together one last time in running the final slam. She was the host for four years and our best host. I can’t imagine any one else helping me put on this Viking funeral.

I’ve learned a lot from all my failures, what I lost, what I gained. I understand more than ever everything happens for a reason.

I made this last Thursday as a promo for Thunderclap 5 at Logan International Airport before my twelve hour ordeal began in getting home. I hope it finds you well.

 

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

performance calendar, self assessment

Tags

,