March 26, 2011

Bandwidth Exceeded

Poetry is always my fall back when my bandwidth starts maxing out and this normally happens because work takes up a lot of my time, either doing fifty hours a week in a training room or (as of late) doing a lot of instructional design work in the mentorship program I’m currently in at my job. I step out of my mentorship as of Sunday to train for four days up in one of our offices in Massachusetts.

I’m leery about teaching creative writing. I’m a good editor and I’m a good trainer in my professional life but I don’t know if I could actually teach creative writing well. I think I have a lot of pre-existing skill sets to pull it all together but it makes me a little nervous to actually do it. I think I might put this on my to-do list for the year of our Cuthulu, 2011.

I saw Sucker Punch aka Girl, Interrupted with guns last night. I’m a big fan of mashing up genres (see here as an example) but this was a train wreck. Essentially, a lot of other peoples ideas were crushed together and thrown against the wall to see what sticks and what slides (steam powered, clockwork Nazis? check. hordes of monsters and dragons? check. gigantic samurai with gigantic rocket launchers and chain guns? check. school girl outfits with automatic weapons and hatchets? check. faceless robots with Robocop‘s Auto-9? check.) I appreciate a good movie and a bad movie but not a bad movie trying to be a good movie trying to be a bad movie. Wait for it to come out on DVD or see it in the cheap theater. Save the $14 on the IMAX.

Leave a Reply

About J. Bradley

J. Bradley's is a Best of the Net and Pushcart Prize nominated writer whose work has appeared in numerous literary journals including decomP, Hobart, and Prairie Schooner. He was the Interviews Editor of PANK, the Flash Fiction Editor of NAP, and the Web Editor of Monkeybicycle. He is the author of the poetry collection Dodging Traffic (Ampersand Books, 2009), the novella Bodies Made of Smoke (HOUSEFIRE, 2012), and the graphic poetry collection The Bones of Us (YesYes Books, 2014), illustrated by Adam Scott Mazer. He is the curator of the Central Florida reading series There Will Be Words and lives at iheartfailure.net.

Latest Posts By J. Bradley

Category

self assessment